Chair: Lyndon Box MD, FSCAI (2019–2022)

Co-Chair: Joaquin E. Cigarroa, MD, FSCAI (2012–2022)

AMA HOD Liaison: Jeff Marshall, MD, MSCAI (2019–2023)

CPT Liaison: Andrew Goldsweig, MD, MSc, FSCAI (2020–2023)

CPT Liaison: Kusum Lata, MD, FSCAI (2021–2024)

CPT Liaison: Arthur Lee, MD, FSCAI (2018–2022)

Board Liaison: Joaquin E. Cigarroa, MD, FSCAI (2012–2022)

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Liaison: Kennet Igbalode, MD (2021–2024)

Congenital Heart Disease Council Liaison: Sergio Bartakian, MD, FSCAI (2018–2022)

Finance Liaison: Arnold Seto, MD, MPA, FSCAI (2021–2024)

Ischemic Heart Disease Council Liaison:  James Blankenship, MD, MHCM, MSCAI (2020–2022)

Publications Liaison: Subrata Kar, DO, FSCAI (2018–2022)

Quality Improvement Liaison: Kusum Lata, MD, FSCAI (2021–2024)

RUC Liaison: Sergio Bartakian, MD, FSCAI (2018–2022)

RUC Liaison: James Blankenship, MD, MHCM, MSCAI (2020–2022)

RUC Liaison: Mark Hoyer, MD, FSCAI (2021–2024)

RUC Liaison: Afnan Tariq, MD FSCAI (2018–2022)

RUC Liaison: Edward Toggart, MD, FSCAI (2020–2023)

RUC Liaison: Deepali Tukaye, MBBS, PhD, FSCAI (2017–2022)

Structural Heart Disease Council Liaison: Andrew Goldsweig, MD, MSc, FSCAI (2020–2023)

Vascular Heart Disease Liaison: Jeffrey Carr, MD, FSCAI (2021–2024)

Staff Liaison: Curtis Rooney (, Rachel Weston (, 


To educate our members, ourselves, and key stakeholders (legislators and their staffs, government agencies, patients and the general public) about policies and positions that directly and indirectly affect all aspects of interventional cardiology and to advocate for those positions as directed by the Executive Committee of the Society for Cardiovascular Angiography and Interventions.


  • Evaluate proposed legislation to understand its impact on interventional cardiologists and our patients.
  • Ongoing outreach to federal agencies (evaluate and develop comment letters in response to proposed FDA, CMS, NIH, AHRQ federal regulations, getting to know agencies/outreach to federal agencies, assess existing relationships with agencies).
  • Support select new interventional cardiology technologies by advocating for coverage and reimbursement of those technologies, when appropriate to support patient-centered decision making.
  • Engage in federal and state-level legislative and regulatory proposals to positively influence the outcome.
  • Identifying members who have strong contacts with key members of Congress.

Voting Members

Member Term Start Term End
Prakash Balan, MD, JD, FSCAI 2021 2024
Colin Barker, MD, FSCAI 2021 2024
Patrick Bridges MBA, RCIS 2021 2023
Patrick  Hu, MD, PhD, FSCAI 2020 2023
Julian Javier, MD, FSCAI 2021 2024
Prashanth  Katrapati, MD, FSCAI 2018 2022
Andrew Klein, MD, FSCAI 2021 2024
Lloyd Klein, MD, MSCAI 2021 2024
Faisal Latif, MD, FSCAI 2020 2023
Mark E. Leimbach, MD, FSCAI 2020 2023
Shahab Moossavi, MD 2019 2022
Richard Snyder, MD 2021 2024
Devraj Sukul, MD, MS 2018 2022
Charles Thompson, MD, FSCAI 2021 2024
Edward R. Tuohy, IV, MD, FSCAI 2020 2023
Mladen Vidovich, MD, FSCAI 2021 2024