Chair: James Hermiller, MD, MSCAI (2019–2022)

Co-chair: Steven Yakubov, MD, MSCAI (2019–2022)

Board Liaison: Ramesh Daggubati, MD, FSCAI (2020–2023)

Communications Liaison: Matthew Wiisanen, MD, FSCAI (2021–2024)

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: A.J. Conrad Smith, MD, FSCAI (2020–2023)

Education Liaison: Nkechinyere Ijioma, MBBS (2020–2023)

Membership Liaison: Syed Arman Raza, MD, FSCAI (2021–2022)

Publications Liaison: Hani Jneid, MD, FSCAI (2018–2022)

Quality Improvement Liaison: Konstantinos Dean Boudoulas, MS, FSCAI (2016–2022)

Scientific Outcomes Liaison: Paul Sorajja, MD, FSCAI (2021–2024)

Staff Liaison: Eric Grammer ( and Kristyn Sylvia (


View List of U.S. Based Structural Training Programs


To provide an interactive forum to address unique issues facing the evolution of less-invasive, catheter-based and hybrid surgical techniques for treating congenital and structural heart disease. In particular, relevant issues pertaining to; physician training and credentialing, reimbursement, and the formation of meaningful relationships with industry and other societies will be emphasized in order to foster innovative research, enhance patient access, and achieve optimal patient care and safety. The Structural Heart Disease Council will coordinate activities with the other SCAI standing committees and will be the final common pathway for establishing and promulgating SCAI policies regarding all matters related to Structural Heart Disease.


  • Development of policies regarding allocation of limited resources for structural heart disease procedures.
  • Support the development of guidelines for training at the fellowship level and beyond, as well as, minimum standards for continued certification for the performance of structural heart disease interventions.
  • Assist in developing quality assurance tools for multidisciplinary structural heart disease programs.
    • Provide guidance in establishing a multidisciplinary heart team
    • Defining requirements for a valve center of excellence
  • Play a major role in interactions with the Advocacy Committee in negotiating with third-party payers and Medicare, as well as other professional societies, the FDA, CMS and industry garnering fair and adequate reimbursement and coverage to ensure patient access to structural heart disease procedures.
    • Establish plan to ensure reimbursement and patient access to percutaneous mitral valve repair technologies, left atrial appendage closure procedures and PFO closure procedures.
    • Optimizing patient selection, as well as pre and post care of TAVR patients.
    • Creating a position statement addressing patient selection for percutaneous pulmonic valve
    • To work closely with surgical societies to guarantee patients are properly educated regarding newer, transformational, less-invasive treatment options for structural heart disease.
  • Assist the Congenital Heart Disease Council by directing SCAI experts and resources to support achieving their identified goals.
  • Consider partnering with industry to establish regional training courses sponsored by SCAI focusing on advanced structural heart disease procedures.

Voting Members

Member Term Start Term End
Mohamad Aklhouli, MD, FSCAI 2020 2023
Salman S. Allana, MD, FSCAI 2020 2023
Seun Alli, MD, MHA, FSCAI 2020 2023
Anita Asgar, MD, MSc 2021 2024
Thomas M. Ayres, MD, FSCAI 2020 2023
Massimo Benedetto, MD, FSCAI 2020 2023
Kalkidan Bishu, MD, MS, FSCAI 2018 2022
Jeffrey Chambers, MD, FSCAI 2021 2024
Christine Chung, MD 2021 2024
Megan Coylewright, MD, FSCAI 2020 2023
Larry S. Dean, MD, MSCAI 2016 2022
Chandan Devireddy, MD, FSCAI 2021 2024
James D. Flaherty, MD, MS, FSCAI 2018 2022
Samir Garyali, MD 2021 2024
Andrew Goldsweig, MD, MSc, RPVI, FSCAI 2018 2022
Michael Grossman, MD 2020 2023
George Hanzel, MD, FSCAI 2021 2024
Ziyad M. Hijazi, MD,MPH, MSCAI 2014 2022
Aaron Horne, MD 2020 2023
Wah Wah Htun, MD, FSCAI 2017 2023
Sabeeda Kadavath, MD 2020 2023
Saibal Kar, MD, FSCAI 2018 2022
Chad Kliger, MD, FSCAI 2021 2024
Rama Krishna, MD, FSCAI 2020 2023
Sandeep Krishnan, MD, FSCAI 2016 2022
Ehtisham Mahmud, MD, MSCAI 2020 2023
Konstantinos Marmagkiolis, MD, FSCAI 2018 2022
Michael Megaly, MD, MS 2020 2023
Jared O'Leary, MD 2018 2022
Basil Paulus, MD, FSCAI 2021 2024
Andres M. Pineda, MD, FSCAI 2020 2023
Marie-France Poulin, MD, FSCAI 2020 2023
Ryan R. Reeves, MD 2018 2022
Michael Rinaldi, MD, FSCAI 2021 2024
David Rizik, MD, MSCAI 2020 2023
Bruce J. Rutkin, MD, FSCAI 2020 2023
Carlos Sanchez, MD, FSCAI 2020 2023
Theodore L. Schreiber, MD, FSCAI 2020 2023
Abhishek Sharma, MD, FSCAI 2021 2024
Rahul Sharma, MD, FSCAI 2021 2024
Matthew Sherwood, MD, MHS, FSCAI 2021 2024
Michael N. Young, MD 2020 2023