Cindy L. Grines, MD, MSCAI | SCAI

One of the nation’s preeminent cardiologists, Dr. Cindy L. Grines is a renowned researcher who pioneered primary percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI) for heart attacks. She has a long history of research, publications, and clinical trial design with more than 400 publications, numerous book chapters, and review chapters. Dr. Grines serves on the editorial boards of several major journals, nationally and internationally, and she has co-edited several medical handbooks. She is editor-in-chief of the Journal of Interventional Cardiology.

Dr. Grines received her medical degree from the Ohio State University College of Medicine, completed her residency in internal medicine at the Ohio State University Hospital, and completed a fellowship in cardiovascular disease at the University of Michigan. She is board certified in cardiovascular disease, interventional cardiology, and internal medicine from the American Board of Internal Medicine.

In addition, Dr. Grines has received numerous awards and professional recognition throughout her career, including the Michigan Chapter Legacy Award and the Distinguished Mentor Award from the American College of Cardiology (2017), the Physician Difference Maker Award from the Detroit Medical Center (2016), the Alumni Achievement Award from the Ohio State University College of Medicine (2016), the Annual Scientific Sessions—Luminary in Interventional Cardiology from SCAI (2016), the Annual Scientific Sessions—Devotion to Mentoring Women in Interventional Cardiology and Improving Outcomes of Patients With Cardiovascular Disease from SCAI (2016), an award from the Russian Society of Interventional Cardioangiology (2015), the Excellence in Academic Performance Award from the Wayne State University School of Medicine and the Detroit Medical Center (2014–2016), the Achievement Award from Lumen Global (2015), and the Dedication to Teaching Research and Fellow Development in Cardiology Teaching Award from Wayne State University and the Detroit Medical Center (2013).